

National Assembly

09 February 2025

Statement of Condolence from the Parliament of Namibia National Assembly

The Parliament of Namibia, as the legislative branch of the state, expresses its deepest sorrow at the passing of *Dr. Sam Shafiishuna Nujoma*, the Founding President of the Republic of Namibia, on 8 February 2025. His loss is profoundly felt by the Namibian people, the legislative body, and the world at large.

Dr. Nujoma's extraordinary legacy as a revolutionary leader, anti-apartheid activist, and key figure in the establishment of Namibia's constitutional democracy cannot be overstated. As a member of the Namibian Constituent Assembly from 1989 to 1990 and the first President of the Republic of Namibia from 1990 to 2005, he was integral in the processes that led to our nation's independence and the establishment of the democratic framework that we continue to uphold today.

Throughout his leadership, he provided steadfast guidance to Parliament in shaping the Constitution of the Republic of Namibia and in ensuring that the pillars of justice, equality, and democracy were firmly enshrined in the law of the land. His tireless advocacy for the rights and dignity of all Namibians and his central role in the formation of our democratic institutions will remain a cornerstone of our national identity.

Dr. Nujoma's contributions to the legislative processes of the Namibian state were foundational in creating a society based on freedom, unity, and prosperity. His vision for a sovereign Namibia, free from the oppression of colonial and apartheid rule, remains a guiding light for the people and the institutions he helped build.

On behalf of the Parliament of Namibia, we extend our heartfelt condolences to his family, the SWAPO Party, and to the people of Namibia. In honouring his memory, we reaffirm our collective commitment to the ideals he fought for—the pursuit of peace, democracy, and national unity.

May the soul of *Dr. Sam Shafiishuna Nujoma* rest in eternal peace, and may his legacy continue to inspire the Parliament and people of Namibia as we advance his vision for a free and democratic nation.

Issued by the Parliament of Namibia, National Assembly.